Ministerial List: 15 Senators Move Motion Against Marginalisation Of Southeast By Tinubu

The Senator representing Anambra North Senatorial District Sen. Tony Nwoye has decried the continued marginalization of the Southeast region as reflected in the ministerial list submitted by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu to the Senate.

The media had reported that President Tinubu submitted a total of 48 ministerial nominees to the upper legislative chamber for screening and confirmation.

Out of the 48 ministerial nominees the Southeast contributed five representing 10% as against the 18% average for the five other zones in the country.

The ugly situation was formally brought to light in a motion tabled on the floor of the parliament by Senator Tony Nwoye.

Senator Dr Tony Nwoye at Senate Plenary with 14 Other Senators from South East sponsored a Motion on Matter of urgent national importance on the basis of violation of section 14(3) of 1999 constitution as amended and section 5 (a) & (b) under part 3 of Federal Character Commission Act Laws of Federation 2004 in ministerial appointment by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

Senator Dr Tony Nwoye drew the attention of Senate on Section 14 (3) of 1999 constitution as amended which provides that ‘the Composition of the government of the federation or any of its agencies and the conduct of its affairs shall be carried out in such a manner as to reflect the Federal Character of Nigeria and the need to promote national unity, and also to command national loyalty, thereby ensuring that there shall be no predominance of persons from a few state or from a few ethnic or other sectional groups in that government or in any of its agencies.

He went Further to state that Section 5 (a) & (b) under part 3 of Federal Character Commission Act laws of Federation 2004 which also provides that “As far as practicable, the appointment to the various categories of political offices shall be done on the basis of equitable representation of the states of the federation, FCT or Zones as appropriate using the relevant formula. The political offices concerned include (a) Minister of cabinet rank (b) Ministers of State..”

In his motion on notice, Senator Dr Tony Nwoye cited Section 4 (b) part 1 of Federal Character Commission Act 2004 which Provides for proportional sharing of all bureaucratic, economic, Media and political posts at all levels.

Senator Dr Tony Nwoye gave a graphic analysis of The Ministers appointed so far by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, which is as follows: North West Geopolitical Zone​​-​10 Ministers (3 extra Ministers), North East Geopolitical Zone ​​-​8 Ministers (2 extra Ministers), North Central Geopolitical Zone ​-​8 Ministers (2 extra Ministers), South West Geopolitical Zone ​​-​9 Ministers (3 extra Ministers), South South Geopolitical Zone​​-​7 Ministers (1 extra Minister) South East ​​​​​got 5 Ministers without any zonal ministers.

READ ALSO : APC Chieftain Nwaudunna Applauds Tinubu, Ganduje For Nominating Gwarzo As Minister

In his final submission, Senator Dr Tony Nwoye opined that the appointment of ministers by President Bola Tinubu is not equitable and also not proportionate to have nomination of ministers at least 1 extra from each geopolitical zone with some geopolitical zones having extra three (3) Ministers while South East Geopolitical Zone has none on the basis of geopolitical zone.

Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe in supporting the motion prayed Mr President to do the needful.

In His remark, Th Senate President Senator Godswill Akpabio promised to meet with Mr President and speak with him over the matter.

Related posts

Breaking: Protesters Pull Down National Assembly Gate In Abuja, Force Their Way Into Premises


2023: South East PDP Presidential Aspirants Unite, Demand Ticket For Zone


Breaking News: Niger Delta Ex-Militants Issue One Week Ultimatum To Buhari Regime Over Unpaid Stipends


We ‘ll Unleash Aluta Wizardry On Sponsors, Organizers Of Endsars Anniversary Protest – Group


Edo 2024: For Prof Akhaine, Dry Bones Shall Rise Again – Otor Drama


How We’ll Change INEC’s Declaration – Obi, Atiku


Leave a Comment