Fresh Crisis Looms In APC As Party Disowns List Of Principal Officers Announced By Akpabio, Abass

Fresh crisis appears to be brewing in the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC as the National Chairman of the party, Abdullahi Adamu has disowned the list of principal officers announced by the leadership of the two chambers of the National Assembly on Tuesday.

The Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, had announced Ekiti Central lawmaker, Opeyemi Bamidele as the Senate Majority Leader.

The Senate President also announced Senator Dave Umahi ( Ebonyi South) as the Deputy Majority Leader; Senator Ali Ndume (Borno South) as Chief Whip; and Senator Lola Ashiru (Kwara South) as the Deputy Whip

But Adamu at a meeting of the party’s National Working Committee and Progressives Governors’ Forum in Abuja says the National Assembly breached protocol by announcing the principal officers without the knowledge of the party.

READ ALSO : 10th Senate: Simon Mwadkon Emerges As The Senate Minority Leader As Tambuwal Loses Out

According to the National Chairman of the party, the party has not officially communicated with the presiding officers. gathered that Adamu made the declaration on Tuesday at a meeting with governors of the party.

Recall that Akpabio on Tuesday during plenary announced Opeyemi Bamidele as the Senate Leader, while former Ebonyi State Governor, David Umahi, emerged as Deputy Majority Leader, Mohammed Ali Ndume grabbed Senate Majority Whip and Lola Ashiru named Deputy Majority Whip.

In a related development, the Speaker announced Hon. Julius Ihonvbere representing Owan federal constituency of Edo State as the majority leader.

Other principal officers from the Majority Caucus as announced included Hon. Abdullahi Ibrahim Halims (Kogi, APC)- Deputy majority leader; Hon. Usman Bello Kumo (Gombe, APC)- Chief Whip and Hon. Adewumi Onanuga (Ogun, APC) -Deputy Majority Whip.

Related posts

Nigerian Government Paying $500 Per Black American To Stage Pro-Buhari March In New York – Secessionist Leader


Breaking: Mike Ozekhome Leads Nnamdi Kanu’s Defence Team As IPOB Leader Arrives In Court


Why FCT Is Not Allocating Land Anymore To Nigerians – FG


Breaking: Senate Rejects Buhari’s Request To Amend Electoral Act, Throws It Away


United States Increases Visa Validity For Nigerians To 5 Years


Breaking News: EFCC Chairman, Bawa Collapse At Aso Rock Details)


Leave a Comment