Just In: 62 Senators-elect Endorsed Barau Jibrin As Senate President

Baring last minute lobby ahead of the 10th Senate leadership and Inauguration, already 62 out of 109 elected senators endorsed Senator Barau Jibrin from Kano State for the position of Senate President

This was disclosed by an ananymous Senator from the Northwest and also a close friend of Jibrin after an emergency meeting in the early hours of Tuesday in Abuja

He explained that 62 Senators Elect have so far endorsed Senator Jibrin and 46 of them were physically present at the alnight meeting held at the Transcorp Hotel

The meeting was centred on strategizing to mobilise other Senators Elect to join hands in delivering Senator Jibrin as the 10th senate President

The Lawmakers-elect, were against the nomination of Akpabio as Senate president

We Know that the Tinubu’s preference for Akpabio was only to carry the Christians in Nigeria along, and not necessarily because of his competence or contribution to the success of the party. Unfortunately Akpabio would not be able to pilot the affairs of the parliament, lawmaker said.

READ ALSO : Senate Presidency: Nigeria Needs Barau’s Wealth Of Experience – APC N’West Youth Leader

We shall resist any attempt to annoint him or any aspirant on us, we are not children therefore capable of sorting ourselves to ensure that the Senate presidency go to a competent and qualify Senator preferably from the Northwest and not the South, given the contributions of the zone to the victory of Tinubu during the February presidential Election,

the North has contributed over 63 per cent of the votes that drove Tinubu to victory, Said senator elect

We chose Jibrin because of his competent and unblemished records, he is also the highest-ranking, longest-serving legislator in the Senate, and the most qualify to be the 10th Senate President.

The 109-seat Senate, the APC has 59 senators, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) 36; Labour Party (LP) eight, New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) two, Social Democratic Party (SDP) two, Young Progressives Party (YPP) and the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) one seat each.

To win the Senate presidency, a simple majority of votes is required when the parliament is inaugurated in June after the transmission of a letter of a proclamation by the president to the Clerk of the National Assembly,

Related posts

In Enugu: How College Of The Immaculate Conception ‘CIC’ Is Transforming Nigeria’s Educational System 


Just In: FG Gives 309.9bn Road Contract To Dangote For Construction Of Five Roads. 


Cash Swap: CBN Releases Steps To Follow In Depositing Old Naira Notes


Breaking: Over 1000 Persons Dead, Hundreds Injured As ‘Powerful’ Earthquake Hits Afghanistan


Why I ‘ll Win Tinubu In South-West – Peter Obi Says Ahead Of 2023 Presidential Polls


Ebonyi APC Crisis: Okoro Emegha Threatened My Brother Severally Before He Was Murdered – Deceased Brother 


Leave a Comment